Go Your Own Way!

The beginning of every month has been putting me in a funk. Until I realize I need to get out of my own way.  I need to GO MY OWN WAY! Thank you, Fleetwood Mac for writing a song about it.  If you’ve ever been involved in Direct Sales, or even a motivated person that sets monthly goals for yourself you may know what I’m talking about. I took a leap of faith over 4 years ago to start my Direct Sales career with Traveling Vineyard. I did not realize that the company offered me anything more than a discount on wine, and the commission behind my work – until now. There’s a personal growth factor to being an entrepreneur. I set goals each month, and when I do not reach them I am my own worst critic. I get down on myself, then I push those I love away for a while.
I have come to the realization a few things that I think will benefit more people than just me.  Mark Twain said it best, “Comparison is the death of joy.”  Do the mountains compare themselves to the mesas and formations below?  No.  Why should I compare myself to others in the company?

comparison-is-death-joy

In the past it has taken me weeks to come out of the funk and by then half the month or more is over.  This time, I’ve decided to Go My Own Way.  My path is not the same as theirs, my home is not the same as theirs and my goals are not the same as theirs.  I will no longer compare my journey with others, nor will I measure my success with someone else’s.  In an effort to be successful, I am making sure that not only am I present (mindful of right now), but my mind is too.  I often think too far ahead or better yet, behind – I cannot change the past, but I WILL create the future I WANT.

body-and-mind

With that I am setting monthly goals and breaking them down into chunks. I am adapting new policies at home to be aware of everything going on and to celebrate the events of the day. Most of all I am reminding myself of the reasons for doing this. We all have our reasons, I need to be in control of my environment and schedule and I need to be able to be present and make a positive impact on the lives of my family and friends. I have a few Facebook Groups that have helped me through this, in addition to my friends.  If you are interested in learning more about getting out of your own way – I suggest Dana Wilde’s book Train Your Brain.  You can click on the link and order a copy.

May is a big month filled with activity.  How are you going to make all 31 days count? Be present, get our of your way and achieve your goals!

Leave a Reply

